Monthly Archives: July 2014

New Release – Finally Back Home – Irfaan Ihsan Jaffer

An inspirational first collection of mystic spiritual poetry from Canadian author Irfaan Ihsan Jaffer . These poems are “songs of the soul” in the tradition of Rumi and Kahlil Gibran.

http://www.amazon.com/Finally-Back-Irfaan-Ihsan-Jaffer-ebook/dp/B00M04ENCU/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1406252338&sr=8-1&keywords=ihsan+jaffer

Irfaan “Ihsan” Jaffer is currently a Doctoral candidate at York University in Canada, Ontario. He studies comparative religion and the application of religious mysticism in the modern world. Two things have influenced Ihsan’s poetry. The first is his experiences in the spiritual exercise known as the latihan. More information can be found at http://www.subud.com/spiritual.html. The second is the sacred texts, spiritual practices and founders/saints of the world’s great religions in general, and his own in particular.

Advertisements

International Authors Day 18 July – Tour and Giveaway

Jo Robinson

International Authors Day

There are National and International Days for just about every little thing under the sun, including Wiggle Your Toes Day coming up on the August 6 by the way. I for one have every intention of wiggling my toes like crazy for that entire date. When self-confessed super book addict and reviewer Debdatta Dasgupta Sahay found out that there was no International Authors Day she decided to remedy that sorry fact.

She said :

“ I was shocked to realize that there’s isn’t an International Authors’ Day that we can all celebrate to show our appreciation for the hours of hard work that authors put into their books… So I decided to do something about it!

I am going to celebrate ‘International Authors’ Day’ on 18th July. Will you join me?

I will be organizing a Blog hop that will go on from 14th to 18th July. Join in and…

View original post 515 more words

Miedo by Kevin Cooper – My Review

Jo Robinson

It’s not often that my jaw physically drops when I’m reading a book, especially in a biographical drama where you know you can expect a real life shocker or two, so you’re pretty much expecting them to come. I had a couple of those moments reading Miedo with the matter of fact way that Kevin Cooper tells his story. I read it in two sittings, because at every point you just have to know what happens next, and now I’m hoping that there will be much more to come from Miedo.
The author has a unique way of drawing you into these early years in a way that will keep you riveted, and the mixture of joy, shock, and some real hair-raising terror that are so skilfully woven into some of the delights of childhood not only had me right there in Miedo’s life, but also remembering things about my…

View original post 128 more words

Arson – C S Boyack – NEW RELEASE

C S Boyack

I was born in a town called Elko, Nevada. I like to tell everyone I was born in a small town in the 1940s. I’m not quite that old, but Elko has always been a little behind the times. This gives me a unique perspective of earlier times, and other ways of getting by. Some of this bleeds through into my fiction.

I moved to Idaho right after the turn of the century, and never looked back. My writing career was born here, with access to other writers and critique groups I jumped in with both feet.

I like to write about things that have something unusual. My works are in the realm of science fiction, paranormal, and fantasy. The goal is to entertain you for a few hours. I hope you enjoy the ride.

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00LQ99QN6

Perry Wolfe is an elite space firefighter. He loves his job, his life, and his future looks bright. He loses everything in a freak accident.

Marked as uninsurable, he can not only never work in space again, he can never be a firefighter again. His entire family consists of generations of firefighters. When his sister is murdered, he applies for her job as a federal arson investigator with ATF.

Can he keep his head in the game long enough to pass basic instruction? He has clues to his sister’s murder, but must stay in the program long enough to test his theories. He’s at the wrong agency to investigate the murder of a federal agent.

Perry can only push himself so far. He needs to mourn sometime, and start coming to grips with the fact that his world changed. Perhaps there is something he needs on a small planet called Quantico II, in the city of Glynco II.

The Book of Forgiving – Desmond Tutu and Mpho Tutu – NEW RELEASE

Desmond Mpilo Tutu won the Nobel Peace Prize in 1984 and was only the second black person ever to receive it. In 1986 he was elected archbishop of Cape Town, the highest position in the Anglican Church in South Africa. In 1994, after the end of apartheid and the election of Nelson Mandela, Tutu was appointed as chair of South Africa’s Truth and Reconciliation Commission to investigate apartheid-era crimes. His policy of forgiveness and reconciliation has become an international example of conflict resolution, and a trusted method of postconflict reconstruction. He is currently the chair of The Elders, where he gives vocal defense of human rights and campaigns for the oppressed.

http://www.amazon.com/Book-Forgiving-Fourfold-Healing-Ourselves-ebook/dp/B00DB32SR6/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1405225051&sr=1-1&keywords=the+book+of+forgiving+tutu

Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Nobel Peace Prize winner, Chair of The Elders, and Chair of South Africa’s Truth and Reconciliation Commission, along with his daughter, the Reverend Mpho Tutu, offer a manual on the art of forgiveness—helping us to realize that we are all capable of healing and transformation.
Tutu’s role as the Chair of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission taught him much about forgiveness. If you asked anyone what they thought was going to happen to South Africa after apartheid, almost universally it was predicted that the country would be devastated by a comprehensive bloodbath. Yet, instead of revenge and retribution, this new nation chose to tread the difficult path of confession, forgiveness, and reconciliation.
Each of us has a deep need to forgive and to be forgiven. After much reflection on the process of forgiveness, Tutu has seen that there are four important steps to healing: Admitting the wrong and acknowledging the harm; Telling one’s story and witnessing the anguish; Asking for forgiveness and granting forgiveness; and renewing or releasing the relationship. Forgiveness is hard work. Sometimes it even feels like an impossible task. But it is only through walking this fourfold path that Tutu says we can free ourselves of the endless and unyielding cycle of pain and retribution. The Book of Forgiving is both a touchstone and a tool, offering Tutu’s wise advice and showing the way to experience forgiveness. Ultimately, forgiving is the only means we have to heal ourselves and our aching world.

The Long Earth – Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter

Kindle Deal Today – The Long Earth is only $1.99

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B006O41HTO/ref=pe_385040_118058080_TE_M1T1DP

An unmissable milestone for fans of Sir Terry Pratchett: the first SF novel in over three decades in which the visionary inventor of Discworld has created a new universe of tantalizing possibilities—a series of parallel “Earths” with doorways leading to adventure, intrigue, excitement, and an escape into the furthest reaches of the imagination.

The Long Earth, written with award-winning novelist Stephen Baxter, author of Stone Spring, Ark, and Floodwill, captivate science fiction fans of all stripes, readers of Kurt Vonnegut, Douglas Adams, and Carl Hiaasen, and anyone who enjoyed the Terry Pratchett/Neil Gaiman collaboration Good Omens.

The Long Earth is an adventure of the highest order—and an unforgettable read.