NoViolet Bulawayo wins 2014 Zora Neale Hurston/ Richard Wright Legacy Award

thegatvolblogger

 NoViolet Bulawayo inner magazine page

In my last post, 13 Lessons I Learned From Blogging, a few hours ago I described NoViolet Bulawayo as “one of the hottest literary talents to come out of Zimbabwe.” It might have sounded hyperbolic, but she reinforced my observations by clinching the 2014 Zora Neale Hurston/ Richard Wright Legacy Award for her awesome fictional debut, We Need New Names

She received the prestigous 2014 Hurston/ Wright Legacy Award for fiction on Friday at the Carnegie Library in Northwest Washington.

This award is a fitting reward for a young literary star on the rise. Her debut novel has taken the world by storm and caused such a sensation, I can only imagine what her future work will do.

Inner pages on an article on NoViolet Bulawayo An article, on NoViolet Bulawayo talking about her craft, I stumbled on in the New Books magazine in my local library and I took the pictures. Little did I…

View original post 688 more words

Advertisements

Legends of Windemere – The Compass Key Cover Reveal

Jo Robinson

Debuting August 8th on Amazon Kindle!

Cover Art by Jason Pedersen Cover Art by Jason Pedersen

Swords will clash and spells will fly in the newest adventure of young warrior Luke Callindor, Nyx the magic-flinging caster, and their friends.

With Sari captured by their enemies, the champions of Windemere are determined to get her back and destroy the Lich’s castle. Little do they realize, their battles in the Caster Swamp are only the beginning of this adventure. Trinity and her Chaos Elves have invaded the city of Gaia in search of a relic called the Compass Key. Rumored to be the key to rescuing Sari from a magical island, our heroes are in a race to find the mysterious relic.

Which side will claim the Compass Key? And, what will our heroes do when they’re faced with an enemy whose evil power overshadows anything they have ever faced?

About the Author:

Charles author photo B&WCharles Yallowitz was born…

View original post 185 more words

Mourning Has Broken – Carol Balawyder

I’ve just reviewed Mourning has broken by Carol Balawyder. Carol Balawyder was born in Sherbrooke, Quebec and now lives in Montreal. She taught ESL and criminology for many years. Now, retired, she concentrates her time on writing crime novels, memoirs (see Mourning Has Broken under C.A. Balawyder)and women’s fiction. She is the author of Open for Business, Windows on Sci-Tech and her stories have appeared in Room Magazine, The Anthology of Canadian Writers and Mindful.org.
You can visit her at http://www.carolbalawyder.com

c511b78335540a7e9d9ae9.L._V363132585_SX200_

Mourning Has Broken offers a moving and poignant look at grief and loss. In this collection of narrative non-fiction essays, the author speaks from the heart not only about the death of a dear sister but also about the mourning of a mother, a father, a dear friend, a career and a religion.
Her sister’s death tore her heart apart. The grief she felt for her was more intense than any grief she ever felt for the death of someone dear to her. Perhaps it was the amalgamation of un-mourned griefs, or maybe it was because it was closer to home . To lose a parent puts your mortality next in line; to lose a sister, you are no longer in line – you have crossed the threshold.

When her mother died she wrote Don’t Bring me Flowers, an essay which is in this collection. In the weeks which followed her sister’s death , an urge to write an essay about her emerged . It was at page eighty that she realized the essay had flown off on its own and that she’d given herself a mission. For one year she would write about her mourning. In that year the author goes about her life as memories and myriads of emotions assail her.
Through it all, she explores the meaning of life and the changes of her own beliefs, taking the reader through a journey of sorrow, guilt, regret, joy and hope.
Readers who have known loss will find much to relate to in this book, and will particularly appreciate the author’s ability to be frank and open and at times humorous about feelings that might be difficult to acknowledge.

http://www.amazon.com/Mourning-Has-Broken-Carol-Balawyder-ebook/dp/B00607D2CA/ref=la_B00HVETKWM_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1407225998&sr=1-1

New Release – Finally Back Home – Irfaan Ihsan Jaffer

An inspirational first collection of mystic spiritual poetry from Canadian author Irfaan Ihsan Jaffer . These poems are “songs of the soul” in the tradition of Rumi and Kahlil Gibran.

http://www.amazon.com/Finally-Back-Irfaan-Ihsan-Jaffer-ebook/dp/B00M04ENCU/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1406252338&sr=8-1&keywords=ihsan+jaffer

Irfaan “Ihsan” Jaffer is currently a Doctoral candidate at York University in Canada, Ontario. He studies comparative religion and the application of religious mysticism in the modern world. Two things have influenced Ihsan’s poetry. The first is his experiences in the spiritual exercise known as the latihan. More information can be found at http://www.subud.com/spiritual.html. The second is the sacred texts, spiritual practices and founders/saints of the world’s great religions in general, and his own in particular.

International Authors Day 18 July – Tour and Giveaway

Jo Robinson

International Authors Day

There are National and International Days for just about every little thing under the sun, including Wiggle Your Toes Day coming up on the August 6 by the way. I for one have every intention of wiggling my toes like crazy for that entire date. When self-confessed super book addict and reviewer Debdatta Dasgupta Sahay found out that there was no International Authors Day she decided to remedy that sorry fact.

She said :

“ I was shocked to realize that there’s isn’t an International Authors’ Day that we can all celebrate to show our appreciation for the hours of hard work that authors put into their books… So I decided to do something about it!

I am going to celebrate ‘International Authors’ Day’ on 18th July. Will you join me?

I will be organizing a Blog hop that will go on from 14th to 18th July. Join in and…

View original post 515 more words

Miedo by Kevin Cooper – My Review

Jo Robinson

It’s not often that my jaw physically drops when I’m reading a book, especially in a biographical drama where you know you can expect a real life shocker or two, so you’re pretty much expecting them to come. I had a couple of those moments reading Miedo with the matter of fact way that Kevin Cooper tells his story. I read it in two sittings, because at every point you just have to know what happens next, and now I’m hoping that there will be much more to come from Miedo.
The author has a unique way of drawing you into these early years in a way that will keep you riveted, and the mixture of joy, shock, and some real hair-raising terror that are so skilfully woven into some of the delights of childhood not only had me right there in Miedo’s life, but also remembering things about my…

View original post 128 more words

Arson – C S Boyack – NEW RELEASE

C S Boyack

I was born in a town called Elko, Nevada. I like to tell everyone I was born in a small town in the 1940s. I’m not quite that old, but Elko has always been a little behind the times. This gives me a unique perspective of earlier times, and other ways of getting by. Some of this bleeds through into my fiction.

I moved to Idaho right after the turn of the century, and never looked back. My writing career was born here, with access to other writers and critique groups I jumped in with both feet.

I like to write about things that have something unusual. My works are in the realm of science fiction, paranormal, and fantasy. The goal is to entertain you for a few hours. I hope you enjoy the ride.

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00LQ99QN6

Perry Wolfe is an elite space firefighter. He loves his job, his life, and his future looks bright. He loses everything in a freak accident.

Marked as uninsurable, he can not only never work in space again, he can never be a firefighter again. His entire family consists of generations of firefighters. When his sister is murdered, he applies for her job as a federal arson investigator with ATF.

Can he keep his head in the game long enough to pass basic instruction? He has clues to his sister’s murder, but must stay in the program long enough to test his theories. He’s at the wrong agency to investigate the murder of a federal agent.

Perry can only push himself so far. He needs to mourn sometime, and start coming to grips with the fact that his world changed. Perhaps there is something he needs on a small planet called Quantico II, in the city of Glynco II.