Latest release from Author Angus H Day

Today we share the latest release of author Angus H Day. Angus is a prolific writer, which is much appreciated by the avid followers of his series. I asked him to tell us about himself, and he happily obliged with that dry sci-fi writer wit. But first.

The Book:

http://www.amazon.com/Minus-Conscience-Next-You-Universe-ebook/dp/B00HBD1IF0/ref=sr_1_5?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1393405787&sr=1-5&keywords=angus+h+day

“A personality per day keeps the assassins at bay.” One of many quotations embossed along the walls of the secretive ‘Next You’ Intelligence Division Operators academy on Cassius. Every government needs operators and they promise awesome compensation. They can because they normally don’t have to pay. Diego Martin goes on a mission for the Interstellar Alliance and holds them accountable for their rewards program in ways they never imagined, in Minus a Conscience, a Next You novel.
The last two novels, What Am I? and Fractionation Nation explore the future of Interstellar Alliance Sentience resisting extermination and expanding into the Galaxy.

The Author:

My choice for author picture 03MAR13

I live in Fort Collins Colorado with my wife and son. My daughter has embarked on her career as a graphics designer. My son Garrett is trying to determine what he wants to do with his future. I’ve been an Infantryman, Swine Farmer, smattering of other trades and jobs and now I’m a manufacturing pharmaceutical chemist.

What aspect of my life that is devoted to fitness favors swimming in open water which means I spend most of the year working out in a pool then hit the lakes when it warms up a bit. My wife Cheryl safety kayaks for me when we manage to make it work. I also like to fly fish and enjoy nature.

I used to consider myself to be an alpha type personality but as I move on in life I’m noticing the resemblance of those traits to the denizen of a rodent wheel. I believe I have diverted onto a path of not pursuing nebulous goals at the expense of people and surroundings that are important to me. That is a change.

I like to read Science Fiction but I will attempt to read most anything one time. Joe Haldeman, Phillip K. Dick, Ray Bradbury, Peter Hamilton, Isaac Asimov, Robert Heinlein, Harry Harrison, Douglas Adams, Tom Clancy, Robert Ludlum, Frank Herbert, Ben Bova, Arthur Clarke and many others. These are but the most prominent of influencers in my literacy.

When I was in seventh-grade my English teacher broke down my reading wall by introducing me to the Chronicles of Narnia. Once I was over the intimidation of the Novel I started reading a lot more. Like most everyone I found myself drawn to spectacular covers and found the inner matter to not always match my notions of what I was trying to enjoy. There was a dry spell that lasted for decades because even though I was capable of being an avid reader I felt that I would have to devote my existence to Liberal Arts to even become a passable writer. It really is odd the things we choose to take as laws in our environment which usually turn out to be the sore-headed opinion of others in a position of trust.
I turned back to reading, consuming two to three books per month in my forties and one day I suffered an epiphany while waiting on family members who were completing computer tasks. ‘Why not use that time to write a novel and not hover over them?’
I can hear the TV weeping in the other room because I’ve ignored the hell out of it ever since reinventing myself as a writer.
The support has been touch and go. I kept the writing secret at first because I felt no need to be mocked or I felt that if I said anything before I proved capable to myself that it would curse the enterprise. I’ve been slowly winning people over.

Since my daily paying job is second shift manufacturing pharmaceutical chemist I have become very protective of my mornings and scrounging time for writing. The competitors usually include: Honey-do list, doctors appointments, the appointments of others, pets, snow shoveling, exercise if I’m lucky and prepping for second shift. That being said I can usually apply the jaws of life to extract an hour of productive writing time daily.
I do find my attitude somewhat sour when folks who have options spread their crap into my time rather than compromising. I can’t really say if that affects what gets written.

Connect with Angus H Day on Social Media:

Next You Universe Website
Audiobook
Blog
Facebook Page
Facebook Group
Google+ Community
Author: Just add me as Angus Day.
Twitter

book1-large-hires

Any final words from Angus H Day before he returns to his writing den?

That’s about all I’ve got to say about that.

Tagged: , ,

2 thoughts on “Latest release from Author Angus H Day

  1. jorobinson176 February 26, 2014 at 9:37 am Reply

    Reblogged this on Jo Robinson and commented:

    Meet Angus Day – creator of some old-school, great science fiction, reviewer of many books, and all around nice guy.

    Like

  2. barbrowe February 26, 2014 at 8:02 pm Reply

    Reblogged this on Barbara C Rowe Author.

    Like

Leave a Reply

